missflamboyante

Tomorrow’s fashion today: PROENZA SCHOULER Spring/Summer 13

In Accessories, Design, Edgy, Trend on September 26, 2012 at 11:27 pm

It is nice to be a jetsetter, travelling the world, and hopping from one capital to the other – especially during fashion week time! But not everyone can be, and that includes me – at least not full time.

That’s when the Internet comes in handy for all of us – wether we want to know about the latest trends worn by our style heroes across the world, or we want to shop for a certain designer we love – everything is made so easy these days. And by connecting with the right people, magical things can happen – like they happened to me, when I met Aslaug Magnusdottir, CEO of M’O – MODA OPERANDI  and her fantastic team during my short stay in London at Fashion Week time. To give you an idea about MODA OPERANDI and what they can do – for you: On the web site you can look at  trunk shows of hand picked designers, including Zac Posen, Philipp Lim and Marc Jacobs. It means that you are able to shop the very latest looks straight from the run way, those collections that usually tempt to be available the up coming Spring. If you found a piece you love,  you can pre-order it and the designer will start working on a piece that is exclusively made for you!

Just imagine you need this one special dress for this one special occassion – and you have a designer you absolutely love and adore making it for you! It’s like a dream come true…

Thanks to Aslaug and MODA OPERANDI I now know what is really going to be rocking the world of fashion the next year and I think PROENZA SCHOULER will!

What caught my eye immediately was the very artful industrial appearing prints as well as the chain link trim on the accessories. I also love how they are bringing in the tribal theme but with a very modern twist.  The mixture of exquisite and contrasting materials is adorable. In terms of colour fluorescent colours paired with down-to-earth shades, like grey and black set the tone in their ready to wear collection. The prints Proenza Schouler use in these amazing dresses are out of sight, it seems that in this collection the designers where buzzing with creativity – think photographs of pool scenes or voluptous tree scenes. The complex pleating details on tops, skirt and dresses are showing PROENZA SCHOULER’S unique workmanship – let the images of the collection inspire you for your own fashion future:

PROENZA SCHOULER SQUARE TAMBOURINE BAG

PROENZA SCHOULER RECORD BAG

PROENZA SCHOULER MIXED TAMBOURINE BAG

PROENZA SCHOULER BLUE ANODIZED CHAIN HEEL

PROENZA SCHOULER BLACK PRINTED LIZARD LEATHER CUT HIGH BOOTS

PROENZA SCHOULER SS13 LOOK 3

PROENZA SCHOULER SS13 LOOK 29

PROENZA SCHOULER SS13 LOOK 10

PROENZA SCHOULER SS13 LOOK 13

PROENZA SCHOULER SS13 LOOK 22

PROENZA SCHOULER SS13 LOOK 34

PROENZA SCHOULER SS13 LOOK 31

PROENZA SCHOULER SS13 LOOK 37

photo credits: Moda Operandi

Please note, that this is a personal selection  of my favourite pieces from the trunk show. You can view more pieces and different colours on the MODA OPERANDI site. The trunk show will be available until October, 3rd. I found a video of the whole show on VOGUE Germany here, it’s an absolute must see!

Are you blown away by this collection, just as I am? Wether you are just marveling at this wonderful pieces or are going to shop them right away: Which look has taken your breath away?

I hope you are having fun with my style forecast for the next year!

xox, the Flamboyante

  1. I love those handbags – very creative idea to add so many metal parts to them. Arent they too heavy? And also loving simple cut but great print on Look 34 dress.

    • I actually didn’t hold them in my hand but in the show the models carried them with ease…I’m able to imagine it is not so different to a bag with chain or metal strap like Chanel bags or my beloved Falabella bag…

  2. Love the look 3 and 22, so awsome and cool !

  3. the blue heels are stunners!

    • Yes, they are amazing! I personally am in love with the leather cut high boot, I think they are the ultimate bomb sheel boot! Both shoes certainly are perfect for making an entrance! 😉

  4. PROENZA SCHOULER MIXED TAMBOURINE BAG!!! Love love love! So many patterns and still the combination reflects harmony!!

  5. I’m obsessed with those bags!!! I could never afford them, but they are amazing!

    • I emphatize with what you say. My mum used to say: There will always be a next season with designs that are even more stunning or that you may love even more. I guess she tried to say that when you plan to treat yourself to a statement piece, it is a good idea to save up a little. I think it is also a good idea to keep an eye on how designers you love, develop.

  6. OK some of those are truly bizarre… but the cute ones are amazingly cute!

    • They may seem bizarre because the designs are so complex, maybe? I was amazed how Proenza Schouler managed to bring in so many different influences and balancing them so well. Whereas before maybe one theme would dominate in fashion shows. That’s why I think this is fashion future. It is definitely at a level where fashion meets art.

  7. the dress with the swimming bathers is amazing – I’m so intrigued by it.

    • Oh yes, alongside the dress with the protestants photo print – is it my favourite too. The colour combination on that particular dress is amazing and intriguing. The prints reflect a major new trend in the world of high fashion and are very curagious!

Leave a comment