missflamboyante

GIRL, YOU NEED A MOCK SHIRT!

In Accessories, Shopping, Trend on November 20, 2012 at 8:17 pm

That thing hanging on the hanger is not a baby bib, ladies- this is a mock shirt! Please add the word to your fashion jargon – you will need it πŸ™‚

I saw this ‘thing’ at the COS store in Nice a couple of months ago it kind of lingered in my mind. I found it online but eventually wouldn’t buy it for a while. Yet I kept on thinking about how this small accessory is going to upgrade plenty of my jumpers, cardigans and dresses, giving them the certain ‘it’. Just recently a COS store opened up in Vienna, and the moment I heard the news I would go there to finally get my hands on this affordable, versatile and cute update to my wardrobe. Inside the store I asked the shop assistant, if they have the mock shirt I saw on the Internet in store. Ofcourse, the sales girl immediately asked me: ‘The what’? (I don’t blame her though, I mean where not in the UK, where someone just ‘d go: Sure dear I’m getting it for you, besides mock shirt is not a German word) But she’d very soon go: Oh you mean that thing, drawing a fictitious bib. She told me they’d have one left but only in M/L and before she even finished saying Large I’ve already snatched it from her it, heading to the cash desk to make, what I felt was the best purchase of the year.

Later in the afternoon my best girl Katy would stop by. I said to her: This is not a shirt I am wearing underneath, it’s a mock shirt. Katy was so fascinated by ‘the thing’, she even made me take off my jumper, so she could peruse it. She was fascinated how the mock shirt can be adjusted at the sides – why people didn’t have this idea earlier, she said.

Why are mock shirts or collars so versatile? Because you may have a tight-fitting dress or jumper and you don’t want to squeeze a whole shirt underneath but still want to wear a collar with it. Isn’t it amazing how little, simple things will make the difference when it comes to fashion?

I am wearing:
COS jumper
COS mock shirt
Kenneth Jay Lane earrings
(found similar candy coloured earrings by Erickson Beamon here)
Kenneth Jay Lane crystal ring (on sale!)
Victoria Beckham denim

The COS mock shirt has already sold out online, but to make the search for similar styles and cute collars easier for you, I have pre-selected a choice from across the web for you, including the ultra cute Sonia Rykiel crystal embellished cotton collar, I also quite fancy.

1. Miu Miu striped silk collar
2. Asos embellished stone floral collar
3. Philipp Lim pointed metallic leather collar
4. Sonia Rykiel crystall embellished cotton collar
5. Karl Alycia metal-tipped lace-trimmed cotton collar
6. Karl Lagerfeld black diamond and 
hydrothermal emerald - embellished collar

Are you as fascinated by the mock shirt as much as we were?

xox, the Flamboyante

  1. Love this post!
    I love Gemma lister collars!

    • You definitely are a collar girl – I love your British fashion sense and enjoy your posts. A bejeweled collar – like those you have – would be nice to own too!

  2. How nice I’ve just made a comment on fashionforlunch use of the gemma lister collars in one of her posts and here they are again. I didn’t know what a mock shirt was! Do you think it derives from the word mock up? Meaning prototype and in construction? It’s a design term as well πŸ™‚ Love the outfit – as always!

  3. hahahahahhahahahah@ bib! Great post….It looks very versatile. I always wanted a collar but this even seems better.

  4. Cute accessory! I can see myself wearing #1, #5 and #6.

  5. very unique piece! totally a must-have accessory

  6. love it!
    great photos

    love,

    Ingrid
    http://www.thefashionsecret.com

  7. I will remember a mock shirt. Forever hot these days but I think I look better with a collar. Thanks for educating me on this fashion must have!

  8. This is great!! It also means you can get a collard look under a a top or dress with short/no sleeves, which I have always wanted to do! Thanks for sharing πŸ˜‰ x x

  9. I bought e mock shirt not knowing what it is. What a discovery! Actually thought of wearing it as an outerwear, weird haha. Lovely post xx

Leave a Reply

