missflamboyante

HOW TO WEAR A PIECE OF ART

In Accessories, Design, Fashion, Fashion photography, Street fashion on November 5, 2012 at 6:12 pm

Were you marveling at the gorgeous designs that hit the runways the recent Fashion Week season? Were you then maybe wistfully sighing –  thinking if only you were a millionaire, to be able to afford those pieces –  like I sometimes do? I have got good news for you: With what you already have, what you love, what you always wear and the new season’s key piece you need to have and want to treasure forever – you will be able to create a look that is spot on trend! The rest is being yourself, since fashion is the art of expression.

I had this Versace leather skirt forever and it has already been altered for me. I teamed it with the Carven Hyronimus Bosch silk print T-shirt, the season’s power piece I had to have and know it will outlast the short period of current. The print is inspired by the paintings of  imaginative painter Hyronimus Bosch, who lived in the Netherlands in the 15th Century. I would say it tells the story of some sort of Apocalypse , maybe from how the painter imagined it to be – quite interesting taking into account that he lived almost six hundred years before us.

Together with the skirt the outfit looks like a dress made of diverse fabric – leather, silk and jersey and the vivid combination of  differing materials has been another hot trend spotted throughout new collections of plenty of designers. I bought my studded trench in a small boutique in Nice for not more than fifty Euros – I just thought it is a cool piece that will always compliment an outfit. Time is always a good investment for finding cool affordable pieces across the globe. I had my shoes and bag for long- they are perfect, long-lasting basics – true investment  pieces because they are always chic.

At London Fashion Week I could see the ear cuff  trend coming to live when I photographed the TOPSHOP show and I must say I completely digged it. So when recently city hopping to London I brought one with me. May not be everyone’s cup of tea as the British may say, but I love the idea of being more creative with jewelery and also more experimental.Dark Moss Deborah Lippmann nail polish I bought in summer. Natural but tamed hair – the rest is – you guessed it –  the art of expression. Enjoy the photos – I think there is always some new detail to discover.

I was wearing:
Carven Bosch Silk Print T-shirt
Vintage Versace leather skirt
Falke tights
Studded trench from Nice
Mulberry postman's lock ankle boots
Jimmy Choo elaphe clutch
Reiss bracelets here and here
Topshop earcuff

Marc by Marc Jacobs ear studs

         Deborah Lippmann Billionaire nail polish

I almost forget to mention the vintage inspired  Andrea Garland lip balm shelley necklace you can win here!

Happy birthday to my best girl Katy!

Has this inspired you? Are you keen to try new things and which?

xox, the Flamboyante

  1. You are wearing that art girl! I love the ear cuff – edgy! I’m starting to see it everywhere – that’ll be the real craze in 2013.:)

  2. I’m following! I love this shoot! It’s incredible!

  3. I like this outfit!!!

  4. Love your ear cuff and especially the Mulberry Postman’s boots !

  5. I love everything of this outfit. The first shoot seems out of a magazine. Great style!
    xxx

  6. super Tee! Very stylish outfit! xxx

  7. you look gorgeous, I love how you put the outfit together!
    xx
    http://wattwewear.wordpress.com/

  8. WOW! I really LOVE your trench & ankle boots. Sooo FAB!

  9. love those boots

  10. That little purse necklace is adorable! It looks great with your outfit.

Leave a Reply

