missflamboyante

To trend or not to trend?

In Fashion, Fashion photography, Shopping, Street fashion on November 2, 2012 at 9:51 pm

What is a must do when you are in London for something like eight hours, where you also want to shoot a Halloween street style journal?

Stopping by  TOPSHOP is a must do when you are in London! I am already back but brought these two magnificent pieces – a blue ribbed peplum jacket and tiled print jacquard cigarette trousers in teal, for which I spent eighty-five pounds both together. I truly got some great value and style for my money and it was a big plus that I could actually go, see and fit those pieces. I shopped on a budget and the decision was hard, with the eclectic choice you’d find on the five floors of  TOPSHOP at London’s Oxford Circus – but I truly think I made the right decision. I will be wearing this jacket made of a firm, stretchy fabric, a little bit neoprene -ish with plain skinny  jeans as well for a relaxed business outfit and in winter I can team the pants with some cosy, long knits that are knee-length. The jacket is available in burgundy as well, but somehow I always go for the blue tones, they just suit me the best.

I really hesitated for a long time on this peplum trend and also the brocade trend. Why? Because a couple of years ago blazers and jackets either came in a straight and boxy cut or  figur hugging, tailored cut, whereas the peplum actually is over- emphasizing the female silhouette. Well, I finally dare to embrace this new femininity expressed through fashion – so I think I made a good investment. Ofcourse: classic pieces will last a lifetime in your closet, but I think the peplum cut is here to stay for good in one or the other way, because in the end it is just another way of tailoring, another option for a designer to create a certain look.

Today I had a good opportunity to see if this trend is wearable outside of the fitting rooms of  TOPSHOP – I went for a cake with my best female friend, it was late afternoon in Vienna, and since it is already winter here it is also getting dark early. On our way we stopped at the old fire department of Vienna, which served as the perfect location for capturing all the details of this outfit:

I was wearing:
   J. Crew  gold plaited link chain necklace
( I also love this more affordable one from TOPSHOP)

TOPSHOP tiled print jacquard cigarette trousers

and blue ribbed peplum jacket

 Stella Mc Cartney Falabella bag
Mulberry postman's lock boots

  Deborah Lippmann Sugar Daddy nail polish

What is your verdict? To trend or not to trend? And, when you are looking for trends, where do you go to? What are you keen to try?

Looking forward to hearing about it!

xox, the Flamboyante



																				
  1. You are soooo gorgeous! 🙂 x

  2. Hey..thanks for visiting my blog:) luvvv your jacket:) the color looks amazing on u:)following u on wordpress and facebook:) hope u follow me too:)
    Prerna
    http://www.vivalahighstreet.wordpress.com

  3. I really like that jacket you’re wearing, it’s so stylish.

Leave a Reply

