missflamboyante

London Fashion Week SS13 Exhibition

In Accessories, British Fashion, Design, Fashion photography, Fashion Week, Trend on October 6, 2012 at 2:06 am

Over the past few days I had to make a decision in regards to my blog: I decided I will not start again any post with: Sorry, if I’m late…or anything similar. I decided this is my blog, my  very personal source of output, my outlet to share my individual point of view and of  which’s pace I dictate since I am the ‘boss’ here.

Good things take time they say, so here is my photo report of the London Fashion Week SS13 exhibition, which I thought was truly interesting and inspiring. Some things last longer than the buzz of a fashion week, and the things I am talking about are sustainability and transparency.The British Fashion Council has put together a variety of showcasing initiatives,  such as NEWGEN to showcase London’s most innovative young designers,  Esthetica for eco-sustainable designs, Headonism to showcase new British milliners (of which one was visited by Anna dello Russo in magnificent Tom Ford backless dress) and the Rock Vault, curated by Stephen Webster, showcasing the work of young British jewellers.

What was really remarkabale was, that I learned that some labels now are putting the emphasis not only on sustainability and eco – friendliness – of which I’m sure you’ve already heard a lot , but on transparency. During a brief chat with one of the exhibitors – Honest by. – I learned that it means that all the expenses that were needed to produce a garment are made visible to consumers. To put it in other words: from now on consumers should not only be able to know how and where the clothing item is produced, but a clear list of expenses will be made available for perusal.

I wonder if this is something that people actually really would love to know and if that would make people feel more safe to buy from a certain line of clothing or label. How about you, would it change anything for you?

Please enjoy my photo report, I’ve put together a bit of everything, I especially loved the jewellery at the Rock Vault section of London Fashion Week exhibition, but also some of the shoe models took me in an instance , most notably the beautiful nude  leather cut out sandals by Darmaki.

I also realized that I haven’t even shown once, what I was wearing during LFW SS 13: On the day I was photographing mainly I was wearing an outfit by Reiss: a flared jacquard dress with a voluminous jumper worn over it, cinching my waist with a bow belt. My bracelet was Marc by Marc Jacobs, shoes were Mona pumps by J. Crew – I am completely obsessed with nude pumps at the moment as they go with everything ( – I found an amazing pair of nude pumps that go with everything  here ) I love and need flared shapes because I have a rather slim and sportive body shape and flared designs will add a little curve to that. What do you think of my outfit? Too preppy for a fashion week or simply cute? The most important to me was that I am able to move well whilst taking pictures. On one picture I am also showing off the Dior is Dope T-shirt by Simeon Farrar, which I was given at the Somerset venue – I love his T-shirts, endlessly regretted I never got his famous Kate Mouse T-Shirt, which was a charity T-shirt in support of the 2011 tsunami in Japan. Well, I’d say this T-shirt is special too, it will alaways remind me of my LFW SS13 experience. In fact there were a few to choose from, and everyone was snapped with their T- shirts.  I also shot some gorgeous street style on LFW SS13, which hopefully will be published soon on another website. So if I have photographed you, please be patient, I will spread the word
once the photos go online! I hope you enjoyed my article for once more, I can’t wait to have all your thoughts!

xox, the Flamboyante

photo credit of this photo: blackscore.co.uk
all the other photos: copyright: Nadine Salem/ the Flamboyante

exhibitors shown in this post were:
for clothing:
Henrietta Ludgate
Honest by.
Emma J. Shipley
for jewellery:
Alexandra Jefford
Melanie Georgacopoulos
Fernando Jorge
for shoes:
Darmaki
Kat Maconie
Charkviani
Julian Hakes London
Richard Braqo

I would like to thank the British Fashion Council for giving 
me this opportunity to report from London Exhibition and 
London Fashion Week.

Reiss UK

  1. This is such a well done report! I’ve read it up and down, but this weekend I’ll go through all of the links (that’ll be a treat). It’s fascinating that some designers may be able to make the expenses associated with making garments public. That would be revolutionary – kinda like when food nutritional labels were first introduced:) I need a good nude pump and I’m coveting your Dior is Dope tee!-Kristysamone.com

    • 🙂 – yes these are some amazing designers and I am so happy actually being able to introduce them on my blog, I feel it is very exciting. I hope I will hear/see more from these designers in the future and who knows – I might treat myself to one or the other….well, treat (shoes…) – am already contemplating 😉

  2. How beautiful are all the shoes! Those are just too pretty! All of them!
    And I really like your outfit, it does really add some curves! Love the sweater.

    x
    Sabrina
    apixiesviewonfashion.com

    • Yes I totally agree, all of them were fabulous, not just the Darmaki ones… I would have definitely treated myself to a pair as these designers are more extraordinary and I may not have come across them, if I didn’t go to the exhibition…unfortunately the designs were only on display, not for sale…:/ Thank you for leaving your URL – it makes visiting my friends and fellow bloggers much easier 😀

  3. I really enjoying reading your post! There is a lot of concern today in fashion brands ( and other as well) to show not only runway shows or looks but also to make sure their clothes/accessories/etc are sustainable, eco-friendly and like you said transparent. I think this is because big label brands have been accounted for moving their manufacturing companies to countries that pay less wages to workers. With the transparency factor coming in one can know where the money is being spent: on the designer who created the design, on manufacturing costs, on material, on transportation.. It could be important for some people who worry about sustainability in the world issues but I agree with you when you say it might not interest most people. I’m sensitive to this because I’m a designer myself, doing a PhD and I’ve learned all about these issues, some of my colleagues are doing PhD’s in Crafts and Sustainability and it’s a very interesting area to look into. I found your post very inspiring, and you look so cute in our outfit! Love the mint sweater and the skirt your wearing! 🙂 xoxo Non*

    • Thank you for your comment. The concept of sustainability, eco-friendliness and faire trade in order to avoid child labour and exploitation hasn’t been new to me, whereas the idea of giving a precise listing of the expenses to the consumer’s insight was. I think the question really is, wether this is something that is left to the request or interest of the buyer, or if this isn’t something that designers should provide anyways and beforehand, like for example Stella Mc Cartney has been doing for a long time. I personally wish the designers would in the future be more mindful in regards to this and still provide us with exciting and adorable fashion, I think this can be done. Maybe I should have outlined more the why of the transparency in my article – so thank you again for this interesting comment!

      • I totally agree with you on this! It can be done and I’m sure it will be a matter of time until more designer labels join in. Transparency should be important in those businesses and it can even motivate people to buy more from them because they disclose it. 🙂 Really enjoyed reading your reply! 🙂 xoxo have a fun weekend**

  4. Very well said, thank you – you too have a good weekend!
    xox

  5. Wow. It was nice to see all the styles available.. living in a small northern town keeps me a little isolated. I really loved your outfit. 🙂

    • I can emphatize with what you say, because living in Vienna makes me feel isolated sometimes too, at least from the world of fashion. That’s why I’m always feeling lucky and appreciative when I am able to travel and learn new things.

  6. What I wouldn’t do to look through all those amazing designer clothing! Love it!

  7. […] this day I was wearing a flared jacquard dress by Reiss, which I also have been wearing at London Fashion Week with a different styling. I talked about it in my last post, how I love the trend of sculptured […]

  8. […] ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Rachel enjoys photography, especially for fashion purposes. She also loves to write about anything related to fashion. A company that she often refers to is Plum Soles.  (Have a look at their site, they also have Julian Hakes of who’s award winning ‘mojito shoe’ I already took pictures at the London Fashion Week 13 exhibition) […]

  9. Those shoes are amazing, such a beautiful color and print. I am loving the outfit, and the clutch is great for year round !

  10. […] print dress) remind me of the lighter, summery baby doll version of the EOS dress I wore in autumn (here and here). I’m even more delighted about crisp pastel hues and candy colours that remind of […]

  11. […] print dress) remind me of the lighter, summery baby doll version of the EOS dress I wore in autumn (here and here). I’m even more delighted about crisp pastel hues and candy colours that remind of […]

Leave a Reply

