missflamboyante

Dame Jane Goodall: H is for Hope

In Austria, Charity on September 5, 2012 at 6:37 pm

Last weekend has been inspiring for me in many ways: I spent three days right in the middle of the alps, which has been enlightening not just because I got in touch again with mother nature, but also because having met an extraordinary person: Dame Jane Goodall. I joined the second annual Benefit Gala of the Jane Goodall charity taking place in Kitzbühel. Arriving without any expectation in my mind I must say the evening has been moving and a true eye opener.

On that occasion I was being reminded how overwhelmingly beautiful Austria’s natural landscapes are. The alps are worldwide known for ski-ing and have served as backdrops for many movies, with the most famous one being the Bond movie: ‘On her majesty’s secret service’. Each winter they turn into an arena for winter sports and even the winter olympics have been taking place in the alps of Kitzbühel once, in 1956.

I spent my time in the amazing Reitherwirt hotel – I couldn’t have been more comfortable with a suite that even featured a sauna and a terrace where I could overview beautiful and impressive mountains:

It is hard to describe the feeling I had on the evening of the gala – and it is also not easy to reproduce all the words that have been said on this evening. There is a bottom line  of the message of Jane Goodall, who is one of the greatest researchers in history, and who revolutionised behavioural research. Knighted by the Queen of England and UN ambassador for peace, it is very clear and simple what Jane Goodall is telling us and sharing with us on this evening: That we must remind ourselves tirelessly to live in respect, love and harmony with nature. To use our earth’s resources wisely and also put the effort in to restoring and fixing what we have already abused and neglected..’ I have seen whole woods being re-forested and whole rivers being cleared’ she says.

There is no need to say that if we’d continue harming the environment in the way we do it now, we’d one day have very poor living standard, if any at all. So if natural resources can be cleared and restored on a larger scale, then why do we do so little about it? ‘Every little counts’, Jane Goodall reminds us. If I do something today and you too do something, this together will make a whole big difference.

Auctions of a variety of personal belongings of Jane Goodall, handmade crafts and even a whiskey drink with the world-famous researcher brought all in all more than 90.000 Euros – a hand-woven carpet went at 9000 Euros and Jane Goodall is letting the buyer know that from this money the children of a whole village will receive education for a whole year. Her charity is not only saving lives of endangered species, but is also taking care of native people who life nearby the reservoirs. The charity’s mascot is a little monkey – Mr. H – because H is for hope – and Jane Goodall is amongst the few heroes, who refuses to give it up.

You can find out more about the fascinating life and work of Jane Goodall and how you can support the charity here.

On this evening I was wearing Jimmy Choo Vikki glitter pump in navy, an amazing asymmetric sequined dress by Diane von Furstenberg (I found a similar and quite affordable one here ), DKNY clutchChan Luu lapis lazuli earrings and Tiffany bracelet and ring.
Dear friends, always remember: there is nothing in the world more fashionable, more fabulous, more stylish than giving back.

If you have a cause or charity you support, I can’t wait to hear about it! Let’s all together make an impact and inspire other people so that day by day there is more people making a change!

xox, the Flamboyante

  1. You look a-mazing!! Speaking of amazing, how life changing it must’ve been to be in the presence of Jane Goodall? Beyond motivational.

    • Yes indeed it has been enlightening – hard to put into words. Jane Goodall is legendary. What I took with me was that I should remind myself everyday to try my best to make an impact and not be careless. It starts with separating waist, supporting charities ,up to what every individual can do and achieve by their own actions and ideas…

  2. Jane Goodall she is special. I loved that monkey project of hers. Lucky you who enjoyed her company.

  3. I love the work Jane Goodall has put saving gorillas and trying to get attention to the cause! 🙂 Love your updo 🙂

  4. I’ve actually not heard of Jane Goodall before this, but thanks for introducing this cause to me somehow :O i went to google her! 🙂 and actually my main point was, i really love all your glitter shoes!!!! ;D they’re so gorgeous!

  5. What an amazing experience! I’m incredibly jealous 😀

Leave a Reply

