missflamboyante

Look at all the lovely people: Designer Awards ’12

In Austria, Celebrity, Design, Fashion photography, Music, Trend on April 20, 2012 at 5:40 pm

I know. I’m fashionably late for a new post, I hope you all will be forgiving me. The last two days couldn’t get any more hectic. I remember that two months ago I started out on this blog, in order to avoid getting bored and to live out my passion for fashion. The last two days I found myself secretively wishing I had a personal assistant to help me with my blog and everything that comes with it. I’m not complaining – this is great!

The  Ringstrassen Gallerien designer awards were great too. Although turning up there a bit fashionably late as well (and no I’m not a Diva, my friends will confirm that ) , I turned up just in time to get a photo of the winning design by Austrian young designers Mark und Julia– phew!

Ofcourse I have got a lot more for you. But let me first say one thing: I went to the event with a bit of mixed emotion but I left the event delighted and pleased. Not just because Austrian designers can keep up with all the rest – yes, the fashion show had been quite enjoyable. Here some bits and bobs of what I could capture:

I hope you got a little taste so far? I may not be equipped like a pro or the best photographer in the world…but isn’t the perspective the most interesting thing about photography? It’s said that the camera is the eye of the photographer…and I see lace….

Mmh – lace! Lace in the fashion world is like salt in your kitchen board – it’s a female thing, it doesn’t really work on men (just like salt doesn’t work in your coffee…) Not that I am being restrictive or not open-minded…but lace is instantly turning every woman into a beautiful fragile fashion fairy…. I like the individualism of lace because every material is different, every pattern is different…

But did I go to the event just  to philosophise about fabrics?  No! I was on the look out for the good people, the lovely, the fly, the beautiful and the queer…the extraordinary! (A bit like myself…:))

The beautiful models….

The sweet couples….

The bestest friends….

Of course I have been on the look out for the ‘rich and famous’ – like world-famous DJ’s Rodney Hunter and Richard Dorfmeister (of Kruder & Dorfmeister)…see? I told you, you won’t be missing out on anything here in Vienna…

Well,  I found everything that I could wish for when going to a fashion event here in my home town…not just that. There was this one special person that really made my day and overwhelmed me with his presence. I haven’t seen him in four years. This guy is like an angel, who’d always turn up in my life, when I am a bit weary or down. I am talking about Mike Davis, male model and photographer and yes…magician. Not only did I stumble over him on the event, he even brought a book of his photography work with him, and this book had my photographs inside. I swear this is true , this was a co-incidence, and we really haven’t seen each other for four years! So here is the magical, the mystical (and if I weren’t already taken – a bit irresistible) Mike Davis- with a book of my photos!

Ladies, do you want to see more of this Austrian beau? Let me guide you into the world of Mike Aurel Davis – the one and only …enter here.

Wouldn’t you agree, I looked not only stylish – with my pea cock feather earring which I completely love at the moment – but most importantly, I looked happy…agreed?

Good fashion is one thing. But then again without the good people fashion is nothing!

Agree with that too?

xox, the Flamboyante

  1. good people can make anything good 🙂

  2. wow das mit dem buch is ja der hammer…….das würd ich gern mal sehen:)

    • Ja das war w i r k l i c h ein Zufall! Urcool ist das – ich glaub einige Fotos kennst du aber sicher schon…x

  3. You looked gorgeous on that evening 😛

  4. Love your shirt,reminds me of Wang. I’ve never been to Austria (yes, emberassing I know), but I would love to know, if you think people there wear clothes that you would say characterize “Austrian Style”?! Like for example, in Berlin it’s all about wearing Scandinavian designers (Acne,COS,Weekday) and in London it’s all about mixing high-end with affordable brands/vintage to create a unique look. I’m always really interested in how “style” changes according to the Country.

    • Hehe, I know what you mean. It’s really difficult to say about Vienna. I certainly am not the average Viennese – I am of mixed origin and beeen living abroad in Paris and London, which has certainly influenced my personal style. I would say Austrian fashion is all about felt fabrics and knits – taking into account that we are an alpine country. When it comes to colours the Austrian love to stay simple with earthy tones like black, grey and beige…

  5. I really love the second dark navy dress — very classy and elegant.

  6. very good; oh yeaaaaaaaaaaaa

  7. hello gente, impresinante el blog, oh yeah

  8. I love your peacock earrings. 🙂

Leave a Reply

